Last week we had off and after coming back to baseball I knew I had to get back into my groove. I hadn’t played catch or practiced my batting the whole time I was off. The first day back we had a long day of practicing our situational hitting. In the first round of hitting on the field we put down 2 sac bunts, after that we had to execute 3 hit and runs, and in the last part of the first round we had to move the runner over from second and whoever lost in this challenged had to do some sort of extra conditioning.Our Coach split us up into 6 groups , 2 groups are shagging, 2 groups are in the batting cage, 1 group is base running, and 1 is hitting on the field. I was in group 4 so I started in the field I thought it was really helpful for me as a infielder because It made my reactions to a ground ball better off the bat. After the first round we moved to start off with 1 drag bunt, 1 push bunt, and after we completed that task we went to our score them approach(score the runner at any cost no matter what).In addition to that round our 3rd round was a round full of opportunities to score runners. The first section on our 3rd round started with a squeeze bunt then it ended with 5 score them.Then for our last round we got 7 pitches to go gap to gap. After hitting out on the field I felt pretty confident because I was hitting the ball well in my opinion. Though after that experience my group went to base running working on some of the little things like reacting to the baseball on the ground or in the air.These drills are really important because if you make the wrong read on the bases it can really kill a rally which as a player you don’t want to happen. All in all I thought this was a great opportunity for our team to really improve our skills as a team. Let me know how you felt about this post and some story’s about your type of practices.

Leave a Reply

